Piano Music of Shostakovich

First Piano Sonata, Op. 12 (1926)

Aphorisms, Op. 13 (1927)

Second Piano Sonata in B minor, Op. 61 (1943)

Dances of the Dolls (1952)

Melvin Chen, piano



Brilliant readings of major compositions by the great Russian composer. Melvin Chen’s insight and virtuosity yield performances of great delicacy and savage power. Liner notes by Shostakovich scholar Malcolm MacDonald.


This is a brilliant recital, one that reveals just about every facet of Shostakovich’s musical personality in terms of his writing for piano.

Classics Today

This disk is, by turns, edifying, enlightening, terrifying and entertaining.

Musicweb International